The region around Freiburg

Enjoy the nature and culture in three countries!

Freiburg is the gateway to the Black Forest and lies at the Baden Wine Route and the ‘Green Street - Route verte’, a tourist road that connects the Vosges mountains in Alsace to the Black Forest. The nearest large towns are Colmar in Alsace about 50 km west, Basel about 54 km south and Strasbourg some 66 km north of Freiburg. With the 1284 m high summit of the Schauinsland in the southeast one of the highest mountains of the Black Forest belongs to the city of Freiburg. Wine-growing also plays an important economic role in Freiburg. The town is bordered on three wine-growing areas of Baden: Markgräflerland, Tuniberg and Kaiserstuhl with different typical varieties. Many destinations in the region around Freiburg guarantee a day of pleasure.


Staufen

From the edge of the southern Black Forest, nestled in the vineyards of Markgräflerland, the Faust town Staufen overlooks the Rhine Valley to the Vosges. The magician and alchemist Dr. Faust once lived in these winding streets. He was summoned by the lords to produce gold. The historic inn "Zum Löwen" in the pedestrian zone, in which Doctor Faust once lived, is located on the market square. Staufen is famous for its historical old town with its romantic Bächle, alleyways, and the castle ruins – an all year round setting for large and small cultural events.


Basel

The city shines with its many unique cultural and recreational activities. Whether swimming in the Rhine, an evening at the Schauspielhaus, or a boat ride back to Roman times, Basel offers unforgettable days out. One of the landmarks of Basel is the river Rhine. Where in the summer life takes place on the banks of the Rhine – here called "Riviera". People, students as well as businessmen, stroll along the river, relax in the sun, enjoy the peace and gain new energy. Basel awakens your appetite in the most various and delightful ways.


Colmar

As the center of Alsace, Colmar is situated between Strasbourg and Basle, between the Vosges and the Rhine. The pedestrian zone - one of the largest in Europe - allows visitors to discover and admire the endless riches of the cultural heritage, which cover the time from the Middle Ages to the 20th Century.
When you walk through the streets you can view the many beautiful shop- and inn signs and also the roofs with their colourful mosaic. Or you can stroll along the Quai de la Poissonnerie.
The center for fishing and fish sales was once situated in this picturesque neighborhood which is called Little Venice, Petite Venise.


Strasbourg

The seventh largest city in France is the "capital of Europe" and of the Alsace and is one of the most beautiful cities ever - not least because of its phenomenal cathedral with its extraordinary decorations. It is a young city that offers a perfect balance between historical heritage and dynamic economy. Admirers of fascinating historic buildings, good restaurants and culture have all chances to fall in love with Strasbourg. The most important places and monuments such as the Cathedral, the House Kammerzell or the tanners' quarter are located in the center surrounded by the Ill. Thanks to the diverse and rich cultural heritage the entire city center was named a Unesco World Heritage Site.

Online Booking



 

Contact

Hotel Barbara
Poststrasse 4
79098 Freiburg
Tel. +49 (0)761 296250
mail@hotel-barbara.de

Tel. +49 (0)761 296250  ·  mail@hotel-barbara.de   Deutsch (DE) English (EN) Francais (FR) Italiano (IT)

Die Region um Freiburg

Genießen Sie Natur und Kultur in drei Ländern!

Freiburg gilt als Tor zum Schwarzwald und liegt an der Badischen Weinstraße und an der „Grünen Straße – Route verte“, einer touristischen Straßenverbindung von den Vogesen im Elsass in den Schwarzwald. Die nächstgelegenen größeren Städte sind Colmar im Elsass, etwa 50 km westlich, Basel, etwa 54 km südlich und Straßburg, etwa 66 km nördlich. Mit dem südöstlich gelegenen 1.284 Meter hohen Schauinsland gehört der Gipfel eines der höchsten Berge des Schwarzwaldes zum Freiburger Stadtgebiet. Auch der Weinbau spielt in Freiburg eine bedeutende wirtschaftliche Rolle. Die Stadt grenzt an drei badische Weinbaubereiche: Markgräfler Land, Tuniberg und Kaiserstuhl mit unterschiedlichen typischen Rebsorten. Zahlreiche Ausflugsziele in der Region um Freiburg sorgen für ein gelungenes Vergnügen.  

Staufen

Vom Rande des südlichen Schwarzwaldes, eingebettet in die Weinberge des Markgräflerlandes, blickt die Fauststadt Staufen über das Rheintal auf die Vogesenkette. In den verwinkelten Gassen lebte einst auch der Magier und Alchimist Doctor Faust, gerufen von den Burgherren, ihnen Gold herzustellen. Das historische Gasthaus "Zum Löwen" in der Fußgängerzone, in dem einst Doctor Faust gelebt hat, befindet sich am Marktplatz. Staufen glänzt durch die historische Altstadt mit seinen romantischen Bächle, Gässle und der Burgruine – das ganze Jahr über Kulisse für große und kleine Kulturereignisse.  

Basel

Die Stadt glänzt mit einem unvergleichlichen Kultur- und Freizeitangebot. Ob ein Bad im Rhein, einen Abend im Schauspielhaus oder eine Schifffahrt zurück in die Römerzeit, Basel bietet unvergessliche Aufenthalte. Eines der Wahrzeichen Basels ist der Rhein. Da, wo im Sommer das Leben in all seinen Facetten spielt, an den Ufern des Rheins – hier «Riviera» genannt – pulsiert das Leben. Es sind die Spaziergängerinnen, Sonnenanbeter, Studierenden wie auch Geschäftsleute, die Ruhe und Energie tanken. Basel macht Appetit; auf vielfältigste und köstlichste Art und Weise.  

Colmar

Als Zentrum des Elsass liegt Colmar zwischen Straßburg und Basel und zwischen den Vogesen und dem Rhein. Die Fußgängerzone - eine der größten Europas - ermöglicht es den Besuchern, die zahllosen Reichtümer eines Kulturerbes zu besichtigen und zu bewundern, das die Zeit vom Mittelalter bis zum 20. Jahrhundert umfaßt.
Beim Gang durch die Straßen kann man sich auch die zahlreichen schönen Laden- und Wirtshausschilder und die Dächer in ihrem abwechslungsreichen Farbenspiel ansehen oder am Quai de la Poissonnerie entlangschlendern.
Früher war hier in dem malerischen Viertel, das Klein-Venedig, Petite Venise, genannt wird, das Zentrum für Fischerei und Fischverkauf.
 

Straßburg

Die siebtgrößte Stadt Frankreichs ist die "Hauptstadt Europas", des Elsass und eine der schönsten Städte überhaupt - nicht zuletzt wegen des gewaltigen Münsters mit seinen Verzierungen, die an feinste Spitze erinnern. Es ist eine junge Stadt, die ein perfektes Gleichgewicht zwischen historischem Kulturerbe und dynamischer Wirtschaft bietet. So haben Liebhaber von Baudenkmälern, guten Restaurants und Kultur alle Chance, sich in Straßburg zu verlieben. Im von der Ill umflossenen Zentrum befinden sich auch die bedeutendsten Plätze und Baudenkmäler wie das Münster, das Haus Kammerzell oder das Gerberviertel. Dank des vielfältigen und reichhaltigen Kulturerbes wurde der gesamte Stadtkern von der Unesco zum Weltkulturerbe ernannt.  

Online-Buchung



 

Kontakt

Hotel Barbara
Poststrasse 4
79098 Freiburg
Tel. +49 (0)761 296250
mail@hotel-barbara.de